Select Page

30 hours (10 hours at night) if you don`t take a driving course In nine states, teens can enter the learning phase of a graduated driver`s license (GDL) system and get a teacher`s license before age 15. In rare cases, a teenager over the age of 14 may drive alone with limitations. Research suggests that many parents miss important opportunities to teach children to become safe drivers. Instead, they rely too heavily on driver training programs. The first step of the GDL is the learning phase, which includes obtaining a learning license, driving with supervision, and passing a driving test. In most states, learning permits require the licensee to be of minimum age, drive the vehicle only in the presence of a driver with a full driver`s license, and accumulate a certain number of hours of driving under these rules to reach the next level of license. Lauren McKenzie, insurance broker for, powered by A Plus Insurance, points out that drivers with a learning permit can only drive a motor vehicle while driving with a parent, guardian or licensed qualified professional. Intermediate: While it comes with some restrictions, provisional licenses allow teenage drivers to sit alone behind the wheel. To get to this stage, young people often have to pass their practical exam. The age at which teens can get their apprenticeship permits and multi-level licensing laws vary from state to state.

Be sure to check your local laws to find out when your teen can start driving. Shults R, Williams A. Graduate Driver`s License Night driving ban and drivers aged 16 or 17 involved in fatal night crashes – United States, 2009-2014. MMWR Morb Mortal Wkly Rep. 2016;65(29):725–730. doi:10.15585/mmwr.mm6529a1 New Hampshire does not issue a driver`s license, but a person learning to drive can do so under certain conditions. The minimum age is the minimum age at which a person can obtain a driver`s license to legally drive a motor vehicle on public roads. This age is set by and for each jurisdiction and is most often set at 18, but learner drivers may be allowed to take the road under supervision at an earlier age. Before reaching the minimum age for obtaining a driving licence, or at any time thereafter, a person wishing to obtain a licence is normally subject to a test of fitness to drive and knowledge of the rules of the road before a licence is issued, provided that he or she is over the minimum driving age. The countries with the lowest driving age (17 years and under) are the Bahamas, Canada, Israel, Malaysia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom (mainland), the United States and Zimbabwe. In some jurisdictions in the United States and Canada, drivers may be under the age of 14 (under parental supervision).

To be safe drivers, teens must be able to think clearly, make good decisions, and resist temptation. The idea is that as young new drivers gain more experience on the road, they “climb” to the next level of licensing privileges, which come with fewer restrictions than the previous level. “Once drivers have completed the apprenticeship permit phase with a minimum number of hours recorded and moved to the intermediate stage with less supervision and a minimum number of months, they can apply for a full privilege driver`s license as long as they reach the minimum age in their state,” McKenzie notes. Lyle Solomon, an attorney and financial expert at Oak View Law Group in Rocklin, California, believes GDL laws are the most effective technique for minimizing accidents among teen drivers. States have a certain age for apprenticeship permits, limited licenses, full licenses, and rental cars. Multi-level licensing programs have been so effective that states are considering introducing similar programs for older teens (18 to 20 years old) who become first-time drivers. In most states, teenage drivers over the age of 12 are not allowed to drive legally. Some states like California, Florida, Arizona, etc. However, young people let them drive at the age of 15.

Must driver and professional strength training Martiniuk AL, Senserrick T, Lo S, et al. JAMA Pediatr. 2013;167(7):647-55. doi:10.1001/jamapediatrics.2013.1429 Obtaining a driver`s license is a rite of passage for many young people. But unfortunately, car accidents are the leading cause of death among young people (with the exception of suicide). Since teens are immature and inexperienced drivers who have a high chance of having accidents and paying claims, auto insurance companies consider them high-risk drivers. This results in exorbitant auto insurance rates. “A learner`s licence, or temporary driver`s licence, is a restricted driver`s licence that new drivers must obtain before they can obtain a full driver`s licence. You can drive with this license until you pass your driving test,” adds Solomon.

A 2017 literature review found that tiered licensing programs helped reduce the number of car accidents among 16- and 17-year-olds. In fact, it has been so successful that some states are considering introducing tiered licensing programs for 18- to 20-year-olds who become first-time drivers. It depends on the rules of the state that issued your permit or license, as well as the rules of the state you want to go to, according to lawyer Jobin Joseph.